Artist’s rendering of WGS-11+

Photo Gallery


Members, past and present, of the Global Positioning Systems Directorate (GPS) stand behind the Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Trophy, which was awarded to the GPS Directorate in a ceremony held at Los Angeles Air Force Base in El Segundo, Calif. on November 30th, 2012. From left to right are Mr. Douglas L. Loverro, Executive Director, Space and Missile Systems Center (SMC); Dr. Bradford W. Parkinson, Chief Architect for GPS in 1973; U.S. Colonel Bernie J. Gruber, current Commander, GPS Directorate; David W. Madden, current Director, Military Satellite Communications Systems Directorate at SMC and GPS Wing commander 2007 to 2010; and U.S Air Force (Retired) Colonel Gaylord Green, GPS Program Director from 1985 to 1988. The Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Trophy is presented annually by the National Space Club to recognize significant contributions to United States leadership in the field of rocketry and astronautics. Past winners of the Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Trophy include Presidents Ronald Reagan and Lyndon Johnson, Dr. Sheila Widnall, Dr. Charles Draper, the Apollo 11 astronauts, John Glenn (twice), and the crew who perished in the Space Shuttle Columbia disaster. (U.S. Air Force photo by Sarah Corrice.)

PHOTO BY: Sarah Corrice.
VIRIN: 121130-F-HW403-060.JPG
Additional Details

No camera details available.


Read More

This photograph is considered public domain and has been cleared for release. If you would like to republish please give the photographer appropriate credit. Further, any commercial or non-commercial use of this photograph or any other DoD image must be made in compliance with guidance found at, which pertains to intellectual property restrictions (e.g., copyright and trademark, including the use of official emblems, insignia, names and slogans), warnings regarding use of images of identifiable personnel, appearance of endorsement, and related matters.