HomeNewsArticle Display

LAAFB Clinic Personnel Named Among Tops in Space Command

LOS ANGELES AIR FORCE BASE, Calif. -- Ten 61st Air Base Wing Medical Clinic employees have won the top honors in the 2009 Air Force Space Command Medical Awards Contest. The AFSPC Command Surgeon's Office announced the winners earlier this month.

"Three hundred and twenty-six award packages were submitted representing outstanding Airmen from every AFSPC Medical Treatment Facility. Selection as an AFSPC winner is a testament to the professionalism and dedication of the individual, the team and the leadership," said Col. Lee Payne, AFSPC command surgeon in a message announcing the winners.

This year's winners from LAAFB are:

Outstanding Base Bioenvironmental Engineering Noncommissioned Officer: Tech. Sgt. Nancy Connell

The Alan W. London Company Grade Officer Psychologist: Capt. Stephen Stouder

Outstanding Clinical Laboratory Manager: Capt. Juram Balsa

Colonel P. Timothy Ray Outstanding Company Grade Officer Optometrist: Capt. Brian Blanchard

The Chief Master Sgt. Michael A. Gambuti Airman Pharmacy Technician: Airman First Class Justin Viator

Outstanding Physical Medicine Craftsman: Tech. Sgt. Melissa Lopez

Outstanding Health Benefits Advisor: Rosie Manning

Outstanding Resource Management Noncommissioned Officer: Tech. Sgt. Rudys Garcia

The Brigadier General Peter C. Bellisario Young Health Care Administrator: Capt. Crystal Williams

Outstanding Health Plan Management Officer: Lt. Travis Wittick

"The AFSPC 2009 Medical Service awards won by the 61st Med Group Airmen validated what we already knew about our outstanding medics. This team gives exceptional support to the warfighter, base and community every day and we are extremely proud of them," said Col. Dale Ferguson, 61st Medical Group commander.

Winners at the AFSPC-level will go on to compete at the Air Force- level in their respective categories against the winners from other commands. The winners at the Air Force-level will be announced sometime in 2010.